Tags

, , , , , ,

Hollywood- I’m not mad, I’m just really disappointed.
It seems the rumours are true, and you have run out of ideas, so much so you continue to butcher the superhero franchise beyond recognition. First there was the abysmal ‘Green Lantern’ then the not-quite-so-bad-but-still-rubbish ‘Captain America’ and now this!?
I draw the line at hero on hero violence. Social media is buzzing with the news, and proclaiming their excitement of the announcement. Am I the only one who is covering their face, and crying a little for you?
I can already predict the whole plot- Batman and Superman begin as enemies who eventually ‘talk it out’ and form and alliance to defeat evil. The movie will end with an ominous hint to a further ‘Justice league’ movie.
Who else can ignore the fact that this is a very unfair fight. Despite being a skilled badass, Batman is still human (albeit a human who is handy with a grapple and a cloak). On the other end of the spectrum, we have an alien with pretty much every power you could want including: unlimited flight,super-strength, super-speed, invulnerability,x-ray vision, telescopic vision, heat vision, microscopic vision, super-hearing, super-breath,
super-ventriloquism, super-intelligence
.
Good luck Bats- the powerless superhero, who is against every kind of murder. Have you got any kryptonite hiding in your belt by any chance? No? Oh dear…
I’m aware that I’m being very judgemental, slating a movie that hasn’t even been released in the cinema yet. I’ll reserve complete judgement until I see the movie- but first impressions are important, and the concept of a hero fighting a hero does not make a good impression on me.
There are some ideas you can work with and reinvent, and there are others you just have to scrap and bury deep (deep deep deep) down in the grave of bad ideas.
Sorry Hollywood, but someone had to say it.

