Tags

, , , , , , ,

If you’re reading this, then I have somehow managed to understand the controls of my laptop. Not only this, but I have found my way (after 2 years) around WordPress and found out where the ‘publish’ button is (probably after a google search). This is right after I have tried to translate the slang of Facebook posts into English, and struggled with the concept of cropping a photo.
But here is the twist- These are things which should be innate to me, because I am a teenager of the ‘technology’ generation.
Technology and I have never really been the best of friends.
When it comes to installing, setting up, rebooting and all that lingo, my technological failure is always inevitable; whenever I see a bunch of wires that need plugging in, or an app which needs to be updated, my brain implodes.
Nothing is worse that when a teacher asks you to fix a DVD player, or an interactive whiteboard as they assume me to be a technology ‘wizz’- the interaction goes a little like this:

Teacher: Sarah, you’re young- help me fix this mechanism.
Me: *walks embarrassed to the front of the class room. Sings ‘eerie meenie miney moe’ to determine which cavity to shove the wire in. Chooses. Shoves. Lights explode*

I recognise the beauty, of technology and how far it has advanced society- it’s just a shame that I’m hopeless with it!
As many people know, with technology comes the internet, with the internet comes social media and with social media comes slang…
Let’s just say that the urban dictionary has become my best friend, as my generation insist on talking with abbreviated letters of the alphabet.
Here are some of my favourite finds:
ROFLMAO! (Rolling on the floor laughing my ass of!) as in ‘I was ROFLMAO to discover people really used this to communicate’.
Another nugget of gold is NIMBY (not in my back yard)- a personal favourite, because I can’t think of a single use for it- yet this apparently has versatile use, as it reached 24 in the top 50 popular text acronyms… oh society!

I guess it’s not all doom and gloom! I’ll never be one of those teenagers who are always on their phone, because I’ll never master the art of texting… or ‘txt-ing’ (apparently the ‘e’ is dispensable).
Anyway, I’ll stop typing now before my laptop decides to inexplicably die on me. Wish me luck, as I try to differentiate a ‘tag’ from a ‘category’ and end up merging the two together anyway… GIHT (God I hate technology)…(did i abbreviate right?)

