Tags

, , , , ,

It is abnormal for me to be the life and soul of the party…

Often I find myself sitting at the edge of the table, wondering how to start a conversation, or smoothly guide myself into someone else’s… To which I disastrously fail to accomplish

There are something’s about ourselves that we have to hold our hands up to and say “I cannot, and will not ever be able to do this”. And I am holding my hands up. My name is curlysblog, and I am a socially awkward person. Always have been, and always will be.

But all is not lost.

I may not be a verbal wordsmith, and my ill-fated attempts at humour may sink like a lead balloon… But I can always write.

Writing comes to me as easily as breathing, and if I write the wrong thing, I can cross it out. This is a major disadvantage of my verbal inadequacy, as in my panic and hope to uphold the practically deceased conversation, I unwittingly offend everyone who cared to listen in the first place Whoops!

Writing doesn’t come with the pink faced embarrassment that accompanies verbal communication. Writing allows you to make a mistake, and doesn’t laugh at you when you fall on your behind!

Writing allows you to waffle on, and not be interrupted in mid-sentence with a more ‘interesting’ story. Without the wonderful ability to write, no-one would stick around to listen to what I have to say!

Writing lets my opinions be voiced, in the way I want them to be voiced. Without a pen or a keyboard, I would have only been known as the awkward wall-flower who was mistaken for a mute.

Thank you writing, for giving me my voice.

